It’s okay to need help

Some of my mail is ending up back home (Southeast AZ), some if it’s ending up here, and some of it’s ending up in Michigan. That’s a long story I’m hoping has a short end.

I finally went to the bank today and made the mistake of going to the location on the ASU campus (seriously, don’t go to the ASU campus during the first week of classes when you’re not an ASU student and have no idea where you’re going). I saw the W.P. Carey School of Business, where I would have gone if I’d gone to ASU; that was strange. I’m glad I didn’t go to ASU. Too many people. I ran into a girl I went to school with, though, so it ended up being good! It was nice seeing her, even if I’m always awkward meeting people again after a long time. The ATM was also unexpectedly easy to use (way to go OneAZ).

I also got away with not paying for parking.

You win some you lose some.

***

I just got off the phone with my dad. He told me that everything is going to be alright: “don’t freak out.” He’s going to call the apartment office tomorrow and explain the situation. We’ll get this application thing straightened out.

He also told me not to apply to restaurants yet, that we’re not that desperate and I should wait a couple months til I find a job at a bank or a bookstore or a library (I say desperate not because there’s anything wrong with working at a restaurant, but because popular professional opinion has is that working certain jobs after getting a degree looks bad on resumes; it’s all b*s*).

My dad wants to help me. I’m applying for jobs and he doesn’t expect anything more. He’s so nice. I’m alright.

It’s okay to need help. It’s okay to need help.

 

Leave a Reply

