Exciting announcement

Since I’m clearly an HTML wiz, I’ve updated the “About” page to help make the blog easier to navigate. You’ll now find a section which breaks my blog down into categories, such as ‘poetry’, so, for example, 10 years from now when I’m a famous writer and you want to see all the poetry I’ve ever posted here in one place, all you have to do is go to my “About” page and click on the “category:poetry” link. Same thing with travel (poetry and travel are the only categories I have so far, but be patient and more will come…).

You can also get to these categories by typing my blog URL, cx.andrea.wordpress.com, into your search bar, followed by /category/[category], so like,

cx.andrea.wordpress.com/category/poetry

or cx.andrea.wordpress.com/category/travel

or if I end up blogging about aliens a lot, cx.andrea.wordpress.com/category/aliens.

TIP: If you want to type a category into the search bar that contains a space you’ll have to use – in place of the space, so like

cx.andrea.wordpress.com/category/exciting-announcements

***

Now, in addition to categories, and I’m kinda learning as I go here, so for now they won’t be included on my “About” page (look for another post in the ‘exciting announcements’ category in the future) there are tags. Tags are less specific than categories… you could think of them as categories within categories, kinda. For example if I wrote a post that talks about Neil Gaiman, but isn’t about Neil Gaiman, I might tag it Neil Gaiman. I wouldn’t categorize it as Neil Gaiman though.

The template to get to the tags is the same as the categories, except when you type “category” in the template I just showed you, type “tag” instead, so like,

cx.andrea.wordpress.com/tag/neil-gaiman

Go ahead, try it!

***

This could, theoretically, be a great way for you to find out if I’ve blogged about something, you know, if I actually maintain an appropriate categorizing and tagging system. Think of this as a journey we’ll be taking together, just you and I!

Leave a Reply

